Loading Events

« All Events

  • This event has passed.

Roundtable discussion: Transitioning to zero-emission heavy-duty freight vehicles

October 11, 2017

While the early steps in the transition to zero-emission cars and buses are underway, there are broader and more complex questions about how to decarbonize heavy-duty freight vehicles. Zero-emission heavy-duty vehicle technologies are under development in prototype and demonstration stages, including catenary plug-in battery electric, dynamic in-road charging, and hydrogen fuel cell vehicles. These technologies have barriers related to cost, weight, volume, or range on the vehicle side, and for charging or hydrogen refueling on the infrastructure side. Governments and industry leaders are actively working to better understand the options, break down barriers, and enable a market over the long-term.

This roundtable meeting, hosted by the International ZEV Alliance, will highlight and provide a platform for international exchange on zero-emission heavy-duty vehicle developments. The ZEV Alliance will first provide an overview of its recent work “Transitioning to zero-emission heavy-duty freight vehicles” and ask others to share updates on their respective projects. The objectives of the session are to better understand each others’ recent and ongoing projects and to be better able to address questions that leading progressive ZEV governments are faced with in trying to implement a vision for zero-emission freight vehicles.


  • Amy Malaki, ClimateWorks Foundation
  • Analisa Bevan, California Air Resources Board
  • Asbjørn Johnsen, Norway Public Roads Administration
  • Dominika Kalinowska, GIZ
  • Florian Hacker, Öko-Institut
  • Florian Kleiner. DLR
  • Gert Jan Prummel. Dutch Ministry for Infrastructure and Environment
  • Gereon Meyer, VDI/VDE-IT
  • Jan Pettersson, Trafikverket
  • Jannis Rippis, Norwegian Ministry of Transport
  • Julius Jöhrens. ifeu
  • M. Olivier Bernatchez, Quebec TM4
  • Markus Becker, BMUB
  • Michael Lueken. VDI/VDE-IT
  • Michael Schygulla. PTV Group
  • Patrick Plötz, Fraunhofer ISI
  • Patty Monahan, Energy Foundation
  • Pierpaolo Cazzolla. International Energy Agency
  • Sandra Wappelhorst. ICCT
  • Stephan Schmid. DLR


October 11, 2017


Stuttgart, Germany